Are new features really helping?

Hello, this is my first major post and I’ll try to stay positive and direct.

I’ve been using Aseprite for about a year and a half now, professionally.
I hardly open Photoshop when dealing with pixel art (only for major layer effects and stuff).

While writing this topic my Steam account records a total of 1310 hours of Aseprite use. I’m no newbie to the tool (I confess that there’s still a lot to learn in itself, EX: indexed colors), I guess you get my point.

Whenever I get to meet someone that makes pixel art for games, and still use Photoshop, I refer straight away to Aseprite, it does not only work for pixel art and animation, it is the best out there.

PS: just to make my point clearer, I don’t use the BETA versions, because I work deadlines and can’t count with unstable features.

The point I’m trying to make here is that from the last update (1.2.2) I got to experience some issues with some tools, and that was really frustrating, not only because it changed the default way it worked, but it also added some tools that seem broken somehow. Don’t get me wrong here, with the 1.2 Update the layer groups were awesome, a must, Auto Guides and the way new Tags work, amazing.

I just get worried that this amazing tool that Aseprite is, goes in a direction that some of the big fish companies go, the “USELESS NEW FEATURE UPDATE” way.

The broken feature I speak of is the “Slice Tool”, I had to turn off its visualization, because I could not delete the slices I created by accident with the new shortcut “C”, I am aware that this is a feature that has great value in Photoshop, but I don’t think it works properly to reach the stable 1.2.2 version.

I’m only asking that whenever making a new feature taking into consideration if it will really help making Aseprite a better and more precise professional tool. I think it already works great, maybe adding to it instead of changing the way it works is a better way.