Defining "Sprite Pivot Point" and "Looping" for animations in games

Hello, everyone!

Aseprite has aided me greatly in producing assets in a timely manner, however, I’ve found two things to be missing:

• The ability to expose a “Sprite Pivot Point” for a spritesheet in the .json-file
  • The ability to expose a “Loop” field for each animation in a sprite in the .json-file

My Use Case

I’m a programmer and an artist. I’m developing a 2D game in Unity and in my opinion, its animation tools are poorly suited for sprite-based animations, so I’ve written a custom Sprite Animator and an Unity-Editor Extension for it. With the spritesheet and .json-file created by Aseprite, the extension creates an “Animation Container” that my custom Animator references (“which sprites belong to which animation”, “duration of each frame”, etc. …) – all with the click of a single button.

Sprite Pivot Point

As much time as my extensions saves me, this one-click-solution is limited. I still need to work with Unity’s built-in Sprite Editor, cutting out the spritesheet and assigning a pivot point for each frame of the animation (for instance, in a sidescroller game you might define the pivot to be at the feet of a character.)

While Unity allows the user to cut out the sheet automatically/based on parameters, my goal is to completely skip the step of having even to deal with the editor. All I need for that is the ability to read the pivot point from a file.

Meta%20Pivot

That way, I could cut out the sheet and assign the pivot just by using code. I’ve temporarily circumvented this problem by creating a new “Animation Tag” for my Sprite and storing the pivot coordinates in there.

While this gets the job done, it feels dirty and is far from intuitive.

Implementation