First day. Pasting from one "sprite" to another and it won't "uncompress"?

Hi. Not an artist by trade so not much practice with graphics apps. But I copied the image of a tree that I like, and pasted special to a new sprite. It’s about 200x200. Then I adjusted the sprite by reducing the amount of colors using the palette options. I did not save it because this was all temp. Now I’m trying to copy my updated tree into another sprite file of trees, but I get:

A problem has occured

Details:
too much data to uncompress for the image.

Just like me to find a weird issue on the first hour of playing around. :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

what were the dimensions and how heavy was the file? also what whas the extension of the file?

This guy: image

is an asesprite file (at this point). He’s 4 colors and approx 100x100. He wasn’t always 4 colors or 100x100 but I was using him to experiment.

This guy: (it was a green fir tree but I am too new to post two images!)

is about 14 colors and ~150x150.

Trying to put the (red) oak into a layer on the fir (green) tree gives me the error. I just tried it again now that these two files are saved and it still gives me the error.

1 Like

I am having same issue would love to hear why this is happening. I am also new to this program

1 Like

Hi there, sorry for the inconvenience. We are investigating this issue. If anyone have a file that we can use to reproduce the problem, please send it to us to support@aseprite.org

OP here. I don’t remember what I did, but a lot of color indexing doesn’t do quite what I expected! It works but I expected magic (remember I’m a newb to graphics creation in general).

Short answer: I probably switched my destination to RGB (Sprite > Color Mode > RGB) and maybe my source as well, then copied and pasted.