Guide to Aseprite 1.1.6-dev on Android [NO ROOT, NO COMPILING]

Disclaimer

Hi, first of all. I want to say I post this guide just to help the community and try to open new opportunities for Aseprite. This guide uses an outdated Aseprite version (1.1.6) which still uses the GPL license (New source code license - Aseprite Devblog), so keep in mind some newer features will be missing. I own a copy of the program and I encourage everybody to buy it, so the developer has the resources to keep maintaining this amazing program.

If the developer finds that this guide can make him or the program any harm, I will delete it immediately.

Right now, there are no precompiled Aseprite versions for ARM architecture. I tried compiling it for Ubuntu but I couldn’t make it. The process is difficult and I’m just an amateur coder. My motivation for doing this was trying to get Aseprite work on my Samsung Tablet, given that there are not real alternatives on Android. I wanted to do this so I can do Pixel Art while I’m not at home.
After a lot of work I got it working using a precompiled version that is available in Debian 9.

How this works?

We are going to install Debian 9 inside Termux using a Script and run it whit proot privileges. We will use LXDE to create a Desktop environment and VNC to connect to it. Then we will install the precompiled Aseprite using the packages that is available from the repositories.

Keep in mind that you will need and external keyboard to use Aseprite using this method!

For this guide I used a Samsung Galaxy Tab A from 2016 and everything worked fluid, so I don’t think you need a high end device for this.

What would you need?

• Minimal Linux knowledge.

Hardware

• An Android Device: tablet, smartphone, etc. [No root needed].
  • A keyboard (I’m using Logitech K400) some models will connect directly to your device via Bluetooth. Otherwise, you will need a: