How hard would it it be make a sekeletal system for aseprite?

As the title says I want to know if it’s possible to implement a system where images are parented to bones and I’m guessing it’s hard. I wouldn’t mind waiting how ever long it takes, guessing this would be end game kinda stuff. I’ve tried to use spine for rotating pixel limbs before and that was just pain, it’d have transparent artficats. I know there is one other program that lets you rig sprite on itch.io, but yeah that isn’t really user friendly imo. Thank you for your time and have a great day.

Hi smeargletail.

I’m not part of the Aseprite development in anyway but I’m a long time game developer and a coder so I can open up the topic a little bit for you.

When you think the skeleton animation it’s not really possible on a pixel art scale or at least I have never seen a solution which would not end up rendering something in high resolution and then scaling it down to be pixel art. For how the Aseprite works and how it was first created and implemented it would not be worth it to try implement a 2D-skeleton based animation framework to Aseprite… At least in the form you have probably seen them.

As in all solutions you have one full complete picture (Like an arm or a leg) and then you transform that specific part by rotating and scaling it. This would mean that for Aseprite a whole new rendering scenery would need to be implemented which would be a massive work and wouldn’t also work great with pixel art… This is a drawing software for pixel art after all.

However I wouldn’t see it impossible to create tool that would allow you to manipulate a skeleton to form the movements and let the aseprite try to transform the images from the rotations and positions of those skeleton parts to kind of emulate the movement that the skeleton animation is going to make. Done with a different frame counts we can determine the FPS of the animation.