Main Character for a game I'm working on

Been working on a little game for a while, and recently I’ve tried updating a few sprites as my comfort in using Aseprite grew. My first post in here, hope you like it!

I appreciate any constructive criticism, I have been an artist for years but only got into pixel art very recently. (And I’m colorblind so any tips about color would be greatly appreciated!)

1 Like

Hi @cybervaqueira,

I’m more a script-writer than an artist, so there’s not much general advice I can give you. I’m not color blind either, but on the topic of color tips for artists with color blindness: I recommend that you specify what kind of color blindness you have when soliciting advice, esp. on the Internet.

There are color blindness simulators online, and while they’re probably not 100% accurate, one like this could better inform any responders to your question. From what I’ve seen, they list roughly 8 kinds of color blindness. For example, this image of an unfolded sRGB color cube

looks like this with the red-weak protanomaly setting.

Another reminder I find useful myself: Plotting a palette may help you visualize relationships between your chosen colors. However, color wheels and color plots are similar to cartographic projections of Earth. To achieve a desired 2D geometry – usually either a square or a circle – information from a 3D color model is either distorted or omitted. For example, here is the palette from your image in an animated plot from SRLAB2, first from the top-down, then from the side.

cybervaqWheel2 cybervaqShades2

Below is data generated by Censor.

plot