Make background transparent

How can I make a background transparent? I painted the background white previously to make drawing more clear since I was using grey colors, then made it into a transparent color in the Sprite tab, but then when I export to .ico it shows a solid color.

Some of the exports get weird when you have a background. I recommend deleting the background layer entirely (since it’s just transparent) and retrying the export. You can Undo to get it back afterwards if you need it.

1 Like

Sorry I’m a complete noob, how do I delete the background layer?

Right-click it and click “Delete Layer”. Or, select the background layer and press the Delete key on your keyboard.

1 Like

I don’t think I have a background layer, everything is Layer 0.

Make sure your transparency is actually fully transparent (0 alpha) and has no partial transparency. ICO files do not support full alpha channels forpartial transparency, and any partial opacity becomes full opacity upon export. Only 0 opacity pixels will be transparent.

1 Like

I’m sorry to be a pain in the ass but what you pose is out of my understanding. I have no idea how to check any of that, nor what 0 alpha means.

Alpha refers to the opacity of an image. 0 alpha = full transparency, 100% or 255 alpha = full opacity. Other values denote partial opacity.

To check the alpha of your background colour, the eyedropper tool to select the background colour (which should be transparent), and then click on the colour swatch below the colour selector to check the numbers that make it up. Make sure that “A” value (119 in this example image) is 0:

If it is 0 but you’re still having export issues, then please

1. verify that the program you’re using to view the ICO is able to display transparency and that you’re not just seeing a default background (opening it in Aseprite should make it clear, Aseprite displays the checkedboard background when the background is transparent)