My start in pixel art - first character,

Hey Ho Community

I’m new to pixel art or art in general.
Befor I got into pixel art a week ago, I just did some image manipulation with gimp.

I started with the aseprite demo and Sunday I bought the full version.
So here is my first character I made with aseprite.
It’s a little apple character for my plattformer game I make.
Apple-Character_Idle_v04

The Sprite is 32x32 has 12 images and I exported it as .gif with 400% scaling for better view in the forum.

What do you think? Any suggestions?

3 Likes

Panda eyes?

This is an excellent start in pixel art, you seem to have a good understanding of the basic principles. There’s only 2 areas where I think you can improve; otherwise, the rest is subjective.

1. The shading on the apple is pretty good, but it would look much better with a bit of hue-shifting from the darker, red shades to a highlight that’s more orange/orange-yellow. Don’t fret though, hue-shifting is something I didn’t learn myself until years of doing pixel art.

2. The shading of the apple definitely conforms to the overall shape of an average apple, but it’s missing proper shading for the face. Shading is important to giving the illusion of dept to a subject, and all that’s missing in your animation is shading around the eyes and mouth. Without it, it looks like the face is just hovering over the apple body (unless that’s the look you’re going for).

I can’t wait to see what else you can do, keep up the practice and you’ll be an even greater pixel artist! :+1:

Thx for the replys.

The panda eyes:
Yeah, I’m really not into faces /eyes yet.
So how would you do the eyes?

I heared of hue shifting, but I don’t understand it completely. Maybe something to focus on in future versions of the apple.
But I will definetly try the shading around the eyes. That sounds easy whith a great effect.l

But next I will focus on some more characters like a worm or some tilesets I can use for my platformer game.