Resizing image without getting blurry

Hi, I’m just getting into Pixel Art for one of my projects (or it might be accurate to say that I’m just getting into art in general so apologies if this is a silly question) that I’m working on and I’ve decided to try and approach doing art for the environment in one Aseprite document (one screen per area, kinda like oddworld). I want this to be in 1080p when I export it, however I’ve read that you’re better to work in lower resolutions and then export at a higher resolution depending on the style, so I’ve done an environment in 192x108 pixels (10% of 1920x1080) but when I export this at 1000% scale it looks somewhat less sharp and crisp than when its in Aseprite at 192x108. I’ve also tried changing the sprite size in Aseprite and then exporting but this just gives the same issue and also looks blurry in Aseprite. Please can someone help with this on how to not lose the sharpness of the image? Do I need to be doing this art in a higher resolution, is 1000% too much?

Can you post your results? Aseprite’s scale feature uses Nearest Neighbour scaling, as sharp as it gets. Are you sure your viewer isn’t scaling it up/down, causing the apparent blur?

Hiya, sorry I’ve managed to figure this out now. Since you mentioned about the viewer I thought I’d try putting it into the editor and playing with the compression features and managed to get it looking real crisp. Thanks.

Hey, I am having the same issue. I need to scale up my 660 x 360 by 300% to get to 1920 x 1080 resolution. How did you get it to look crisp in the end? Thanks.

hi there, Jessie_Yin!
scaling by nearest neighbor won’t introduce blurred edges. i believe it’s default option for sprite → sprite size and the only option for resizing during export.
however, in your case there is one issue: 660x360 is not same aspect ratio as 1920x1080.
to resize it three times to get 1920x1080 you need a sprite size to be 640x360. or scale up what you have to 1980x1080 and crop it.