Slice behavior change in Aseprite

Hi,

I used to be able to add a slice, and position it differently from one frame to another. This is very handy to create things like hitboxes. With the newest Aseprite (v1.3.18.1), if I create a new slice and try to do that, then the slice position seems to be shared across frames. Moving it on one frame moves it for all frames. If I modify an older slice (created with an older Aseprite), then it can still be positioned independently for each frame. So it’s like there’s a hidden slice configuration frame setting that triggers that different behavior (shared vs frame specific), and I can’t find it anywhere. Or maybe it’s a bug?

I’d appreciate any help.

Edit: I’ve also tried v1.3.17.2. Same behavior of slices being shared across frames. Sadly, I don’t think there’s a place where I can redownload older versions.

Edit: I’ve reverted to v1.3.8.1. It works the way I’ve come to expect.

I have this same issue, strangely it seems to still be built into aseprite as i had a sprite once that had different positions of the slices for different frames after recovering the file from a crash- which is actually what prompted me to try and find out how to move slices per frame. it seemed convenient for hitboxes like you said.

either way this seems to still be in aseprite’s api - aseprite/docs/ase-file-specs.md at main · aseprite/aseprite · GitHub

under slice chunks you can see that it has “slice keys” which represent the frame of the slice.

would be cool to have this brought back, or fixed if it’s a bug

Thanks for the confirmation.

To try and get this addressed, I have created a bug report (Slices now seem global by default, cannot be repositioned from frame to frame), and replied to an existing GitHub issue (Slices are sometimes linked to frames and sometimes aren't · Issue #2285 · aseprite/aseprite · GitHub).

hey, i looked into it a bit more and i actually found even in the latest version under

preferences > guides & slices

there is a “prefer slice keyframes” option, which actually re-implements the old behavior you were looking for.

Awesome, thank you. I’ll try it.

Edit: it works nicely. I hope they never remove that option until they have a proper replacement for it.