Steam not detecting when Aseprite is open via the Unity Game Engine

I specifically bought Aseprite on Steam because I wanted to track how much time I use it. I’m a game dev and therefor use the Unity Game Engine a lot. Anytime I open an image within the Unity Editor it’ll load up but Steam never recognizes that it’s open and therefore doesn’t track time spent.

I’m currently using Aseprite V1.3.3 however the issue persists with all versions available in the beta tab on Steam.

To be clear this issue only occurs when opening Aseprite in Unity, when opening an in image through file explored for example it works perfectly fine.

Hi @Legendary_Swordsman2, this issue is already fixed in v1.3.3, but it is (and will be) present in previous version (I don’t remember from where because this was an internal modification in the Steam SDK that broke our communication with Steam client).

We have no plans to fix/re-release previous versions of Aseprite for this issue.

Ya I understand why the issue wouldn’t be fixed for previous versions. However I’m on V1.3.3 right now and the issue still persists. Could the fix only be in the beta version or something?

Oh sorry, in that way I misunderstood you first post. Not sure how Unity is opening Aseprite because just running the .exe should start the communication with the Steam client (if it’s running).

I imagine you have Steam open all the time and when you run Aseprite from Unity Steam is already running. Where/how is configured to run Aseprite.exe to edit sprites from Unity? (I don’t have Unity installed to give a try to this.)