Designing a Palatte Advice Needed

So im aiming to make a small game for personal play and i want to design my own sprites for it. I am no pro at sprite art but im not terrible either. A issue ive run into alot is i feel limited for by existing color palattes for the scope of my project. I want the theme of the game to revolve around nature gardening plants and id love to have many different colors for woods and the plants themselves. Now this being said in a guide i watched on skillshare i was told that as a general basic rule each color for brighter or darker should be hue shifted by 5-10 and brightness raised or lowered by around 20. But comparing this to other peoples pallates i dont see this rule being followed as much and am lost trying to figure out how to design my dream palatte for this project. Any tips or advice would be amazing.

The #help section is for help with Aseprite. Your question is a general art question, not specific to Aseprite.

There aren’t really rules with hue-shifting beyond that you usually want to do at least some hue shifting. For example, I often make my shadows more saturated as well as bluer, but for the darkest ones, I lower the saturation and hue shift less, there are no linear relationships. The specific values of the tweaks vary from ramp to ramp, and palette to palette.

I like to build my palettes while working on a mockup for the project. That way, I can see how the palette
actually works. It’s always an interative process too, I usually tweak existing colours when I add new ones, so that all the ramps look good, and so that there’s attractive contrast between different ramps.

Let your gut guide you. And then maybe add some more contrast ;D

1 Like

Hi Eve_Wake,

If you can stomach another tutorial, I’d recommend Pixel Parmesan’s take on the subject. Here is an excerpt: