Max Size Brush Preview on tablet

Hey, i really love your program and its new feature “Dynamics”. But is it intentional that brush preview is always max size when “Size” is used in “Dynamics”? I found it very inconvenient. Or maybe this problem is only on my side? I have pretty old tablet (Wacom CTE-430)
Its look like that
2020-06-01_04-18-59
I just cant see what I’m doing behind the brush preview :pensive:

This is the same behaviour you get in most drawing software. It’s just more noticeable with the full brush preview, whereas most other programs have brush edges as the default. You can enable brush edges or just the crosshair cursor in Preferences > Cursors,

Oh, I didn’t know that, I’m still new at drawing. I guess I’ll just have to get used to it then.

Or it will be really cool if had feature to switch between max and min size brush preview (with Size option in Dynamics), but don’t bother if its too hard to implement…

1 Like

I’ve made a github issue regarding this problem.

I’m thinking that maybe when dynamics is enabled we can show the minimum brush size preview (as it’s the first thing that will be painted). Other option would be to just use one pixel as preview (or the brush edges option).

I think this is a great idea!

Perhaps the brush edges preview could show both the minimum and maximum when they’re sufficiently different? It would be weird and possibly disorienting if one preview type showed the maximum while the other showed the minimum, but edges have the luxury of showing both.

I had the pressure with the min-size showing on the canvas before but it changed on me suddenly and wasnt sure if this was an update or something I may have clicked.

I prefer the cursor showing the min. size and being able to change that with the size slider (not going into the mix-max size settings)

If possible, show minimum brush size as preview, and maximum at the same time as if you were using the “Brush Edges” option in the cursor preferences.

1 Like